Recycling a Blackboard Course in Version 9

This is a step-by-step guide on how to recycle a Blackboard course. There are three distinct steps in this process:
1. Archive the Course
2. Download and the save the archive file in a safe location (Do not decompress/un-archive this zip file.)
3. Clear the student enrollment for the course (which also clears the Grade Center)

Archiving the Course: Navigate to the Export/Archive

(1) While inside the course, find the Control Panel menu located to the left under the main course menu.
(2) Click Packages and Utilities to expand this menu item.
(3) Choose the Export/Archive Course option.
(4) Click the Archive button towards the top of the screen.

Archiving the Course: Create the Archive file

Now you must set a few options before you create the archive file.
(1) Always check the checkbox to 'Include Grade Center History' in your archive file.
(2) Always choose the option to 'Copy links and copies of content'
(3) Click one of the Submit buttons to begin the archive process.

Wait for the Archive File to be Created

The archive process usually lasts anywhere from one to seven minutes, depending on the amount of content stored in the course. You will receive an email notification to your UT email address when the archive process is complete.

Saving the Archive File

Once you have received notification via email that the archive process is complete, you should then download and save the zip file.
(1) While inside the course, find the Control Panel menu located to the left under the main course menu.
(2) Click Packages and Utilities to expand this menu item.
(3) Choose the Export/Archive Course option.
(4) Click the File Name of the most recently created archive file.
(5) A window will popup prompting you to save the file. Save this file in a secure location for future reference during grade disputes or to recover lost content.
(6) DO NOT UNZIP/UNARCHIVE/DECOMPRESS THIS ZIP FILE. This will corrupt your archive file and render it useless.

NOTE: Archive files are only usable by the Blackboard software package. Most of the content of these files are meaningless gibberish outside of Blackboard. If you need a course unarchived, please send the zip file to the UTHSC Blackboard Administrator. The Blackboard team will unarchive the course on a dedicated server that is separate from the production Blackboard server. This will not interfere with any courses currently in use.

Removing Students: Navigating to Bulk Delete Option

The last step in recycling your Blackboard course is to remove all of the currently enroll students. These are the students who took the course the last time it was taught using Blackboard.
(1) While inside the course, find the Control Panel menu located to the left under the main course menu.
(2) Click Packages and Utilities to expand this menu item.
(3) Choose the Bulk Delete option.

Removing Students: Bulk Delete Users

When the Bulk Delete page loads:
(1) Scroll down to 2. Select Other Materials to Delete and check the box beside Users.
(2) Go to 3. Confirmation and type "Delete" in the text field.
(3) Click Submit.

Success! Bulk Delete operation completed.

The green bar indicates all student users have been removed.

Remaining Users: Non-Student Roles

When you return to Users and Groups > Users in the Control Panel, the only users enrolled are non-student users (Course Builder, Teaching Assistant, Guest, Course Director/Instructor, etc.).
Now that all of the student users in the course have been removed, it is now easy for the course to be populated with new users.

Course Recycle is Complete!

You should now have an archive file (zip file) for the course stored somewhere safely in your electronic files.
Your course enrollment should only include the non-student users who should have access to your course for the upcoming term.
You may now contact the Blackboard Administrator or the Blackboard liaison for your college to request to have your newly recycled course populated with students for the upcoming academic term.

E-mail the Blackboard Administrator at bb@uthsc.edu with any questions or enrollment requests. Enrollment should only be done after students have had adequate time to register for your course in Banner.